2019 Senior Athlete Awards

On June 1, 2019, Athletic Director Lisa Melendy, and the athletic department hosted the annual Senior Athlete Reception in ’62 Center for the Performing Arts. This program recognized all seniors who competed for Williams College during the 2018-2019 season and presented seven individual honors to deserving student athletes.

Purple Key Award

The Purple Key trophy is awarded to a senior male and female athlete who best exemplify leadership, team spirit, ability, and character.

Olivia Barnhill – Women’s Soccer

Co-Captain 2018
NCAA Champion 15, 17 & 18
D3 Soccer All American Scholar All-­­­America
DIII Goalkeeper of the Year 2017

Cordelia Chan – Women’s Golf

2019 NCAA Individual Champion
4X Top 5 NCAA Finishes
4X WGCA All-American
NESCAC Player of the Year 2018
NESCAC Rookie of the Year 2016
4 X NESCAC All-Conference and All-Academic
Lowest 18-hole score for Williams Women’s golf (5 under par)

Bobby Casey – Men’s Basketball

2x First Team all NESCAC
2X D3Hoops All-Region NABC All-District 2019
Honorable Mention All- American 2019
Oswald Tower Team MVP
3 NCAA Tournament Appearances
All-Time Program Leader in 3 Pointers

Kate Hogan Women’s Athletic Award

The Women’s Athletic Award was first established on the 25th anniversary of women’s athletics at Williams College. It was renamed in memory of Kate Hogan ’87, a participant on the varsity soccer and lacrosse teams, the junior varsity lacrosse and squash teams, as well as an avid intramural basketball player and runner. The Kate Hogan Women’s Athletic Award is given annually to the senior woman who has distinguished herself in her commitment and contributions to the Department of Physical Education, Athletics, and Recreation. The winner has engaged in many of the activities offered by the department and has been an example of the joy and pleasure derived by participation in such activities.

Caitlin Ubl – Women’s Track and Field

2019 Captain
Five time All-American
Seven Time All-New England
School record holder in 60m hurdles, 100 meter hurdles, heptathlon & 4X400m relay


Class of 1925 Scholar Athlete

Presented in 1977 by the Class of 1925, the Scholar Athlete Award recognizes a senior woman athlete whose commitment and excellence in athletics and scholarship are an inspiration to the Williams community.

Mackenzie Murphy – Softball

Major: Biology 3.74 G.P.A.
3X NFCA First Team All New England
2018 Google Cloud All American
3X All NESCAC First Team


W. Marriott Canby Award

A cash prize established by W. Marriott Canby, 1891, that’s awarded to the senior who has attained the highest average standing in scholarship during his or her course. The recipient must have been in college since the beginning of his or her junior year and must have represented Williams College in a recognized intercollegiate athletic contest.

Josie Maynard – Women’s Crew

Major: Economics
Concentration: Maritime Studies
4.05 G.P.A.
Highest Honors in Economics


Willard E. Hoyt, Jr. ’23 Award

Presented to the College by the Alpha Delta Phi Class of 1960 in memory of Willard E. Hoyt, Jr. ’23. This award is given annually to the senior letterman whose spirit and superior efforts on behalf of Williams athletics have been combined with a genuine academic interest.

Drew West – Men’s Crew

Major: Economics & Environmental Studies
3.96 G.P.A.
3X Medalist, New England Championships
Men’s Crew Brian Dawe Award Winner


Ephmanship Award

The Ephmanship Award is presented to one male and one female senior who embody sportsmanship and excellence in the spirit of Williams College athletics, on and off the court or field. This award is voted on by a group of student-­­­ athlete peers.

Kristina Alvarado – Women’s Soccer and Softball

Kyle Scadlock – Men’s Basketball



Thomas Benz
Jack Bohen
Kellen Hatheway
David Kwan
William O’Brien
Alex Panstares
Doug Schaffer


Bobby Casey
James Heskett
Alexis Jones
Michael Kempton
Jake Porath
Kyle Scadlock
Marcos Soto Esparza
Lauren Vostal 


Samuel Armstrong
Grace Chamberlin
Mark Hay
Harper Johnson
Caroline Kessler
Kate Lattimore
Diana Matthiessen
Josie Maynard
Julia Mini
Ava Palmo
Annie Rush
Eileen Russell
Andrew West
Adam Zoen 

Cross Country

Liam Albrittain
Austin Anderson
David Azzara
Adrian Black

Zeke Cohen
Jesse Facey
Emily Harris
Lindsay Klickstein
Ross Hoch

Jacob Kahrs
Walker Knauss
Mitchell Morris
John Spence

Field Hockey

Julia Cochran
Libby Dolan*
Sarah McLaughlin
Emma Santucci
Caroline Taverna
Meredith Wright


Amyhr Barber
Desmond Butler
Joachim Cedergren
Jameson DeMarco
Christian Dumont
JJ Dunn
Jaelon Moaney
Brendan Rosseau
Karsten Salveson
Austin Thomas
Joseph Volpe 


William Beischer
Cordelia Chan*
Jake Foehl
Isabella Wang

Ice Hockey

Abby Brustad
Roberto Cellini
Anna Fucillo
Keanu Hillaire
Claire Mancheski
Connor Meike
Marcus Mollica
Michael Pinios
Eliza Quigley
Annie Rush
Olivia Stokes


Cameron Brown
Walter Buckley
Korinna Garfield
Matthew Hogan
Angus O’Rourke
Suzanna Penikis
Daniel Powell
Mackenzie Rush
Kailie Saudek

Jacob Schuckman
Emma TenBarge
Richard van den Broek
Benjamin Wipper


Bryan Bailey
Braden Becker
Evan Carr

Gibson Donnan
Nicholas Gardner
Charles Harrison
Hannah Hunsaker
Sonya Jampel

Ellyn Pier
Stockton Troyer


Kristina Alvarado
Greg Andreou
Olivia Barnhill*
Lauren Brown

Sean Dory
Madison Feeney
Paul Griffith

Eric Hirsch
Sarah Hollinger
Ian Kagame
Andrew Macdonald
Dawn Penso

Aaron Schein
Natalie Turner-Wyatt


Kristina Alvarado
Jillian Jenkin

Jessica Kim
Mackenzie Murphy
Casey Pelz


Esther Baek
Anand Butler
George Clark
Ben Eisenberg
John Fitzgerald
Neal Jain
Oscar Merino
Williams Ruggerio

Swimming and Diving

Kristina Barry
Victoria Chentsova
Dana Chung

Frances Dean
Giulia Filocca
Maia Hare*
Erin Kennedy
Bryanna Lee

Matthew Lennon
Curtis Maher*

Alison McNamara
Jack Melnick

Shahzad Mumtaz
Zachary Ottati
Dragan Vujovic


Leah Bush*
Deepak Indrakanti
Korina Neveux
Christian O’Connor

Track and Field

Austin Anderson
David Azzara
Ezekiel Cohen
Lucas Estrada
Elliott Fong*
Kennedy Green*
Emily Harris
Rachel Hurst
Ian Kagame
Jacob Kahrs
Lindsay Klickstein
Katherine Loftus
Mitchell Morris
Magnolia Murphy
Kenechukwu Odenigbo
Emma Reichheld
Jeremy Thaller
Caitlin Ubl*


Roxi Corbeil
Ally Ostrow
Tess Richman
Morgan Richman
Mia Weinland


Bennett Caplin
Sebastian Dziadkiewicz
Ben Morton
Alexander Pankhurst
Brendon Seyfried*

* = All American

2018 – 2019 National Champions

Women’s Soccer
Women’s Track and Field
Cordelia Chan – Women’s Golf
Maia Hare – Women’s Swim and Dive

Women’s Indoor Track & Field – 2019 NCAA Division III National Champions
Women’s Soccer – 2018 NCAA Division III National Champions
Cordelia Chan – Women’s Golf
Maia Hare – Women’s Swim & Dive